Revisiting The Happiest Place on Earth

Disneyland Main Street

For as long as I can remember, I have loved Disneyland.  There’s something so special about visiting a place that completely transports you to multiple fantasy lands of adventure that always have happy endings.

For the longest time, I’ve longed to go to Disneyland with a boyfriend.  I remember going with my family and thinking how romantic (and probably childish) it would be to go with my boyfriend, hold hands and kiss throughout the lines.  Not that being surrounded by swarms of people, fanatic children, crying babies, loud music, expensive food, and excessive amounts of standing evokes any sort of romance, but I somehow had that dream. 

Of course, Disney can really ruin a child.   It can influence young impressionable girls to dream of becoming beautiful princesses, who will overcome the most impossible trials. For example, growing legs from a mermaid fin, falling in love with a beast who later transforms into a prince, and dying from the poison of a rose and waking up with a kiss.  Let’s not forget the other side of the gender.  How about a young boy orphaned in the jungle, raised by the animals who grows up to take back his home, and save evil by howling or flying through trees?

Yet, what I love about Disney films and Disneyland is that it really can create a happy space.  Many or most of the films do have some sweet nature which can touch and affect you at some deeper level.  Disneyland, albeit, is a little over the top, but with all the positive energy and lively music, you just can’t go wrong.

The last time I went to Disneyland was Christmas in 2001.  If you haven’t already been warned, don’t visit Disneyland on holidays.  You’re asking for a disaster.  No wait, you’re paying for it.  We thought we were clever, we figured most people would be at home with their Christmas trees. Alas, there is no refuge on a holiday at Disneyland.  This was over 12 years ago now and I’ve been dying to make it back ever since.  Unfortunately, I’d never found someone to go with as the timing was all wrong or I just didn’t make it happen.  I swore I would make it happen this year.

Well, my boyfriend has never been to California and I’ve really wanted him to get the most of his time here.  So, of course, I had to take him to Disneyland.  What is even more exciting is that my boyfriend gets excited about things, albeit sometimes in a childish way, but I’m the same and its great.  Plus, Disneyland this time would be different because it would just be the two of us.  No other people or kids to worry about losing or exhausting.  We could power through or not push at all.

So, how was it bringing my boyfriend to Disneyland?

How was experiencing American culture in all its glory and excessiveness?

Benji Disneyland

Mickey Mouse Waffle  Haunted Mansion

Toontown IMG_4467 Disneyland Disneyland Castle

It was a girl’s (or a woman’s) overpriced dream come true.

I love you Disneyland and I can’t wait to come back again with my boyfriend ;-)

